Facts and Figures

The DFG currently funds 278 Collaborative Research Centres (CRC) with a total of €871 million (incl. programme allowances) for 2024 (figures as of 1 April 2024). This accounts for approximately 24% of the DFG’s total budget.

187 of these Centres are primarily based at single universities, whereas 91 CRC/Transregio are mainly based at up to three universities. 17 new Collaborative Research Centres have been established, among them four new CRC/Transregios. The 278 Collaborative Research Centers are located at 54 coordinating universities.

Of the 278 Collaborative Research Centres currently running, 35 (12.6 %) are located in the field of humanities and social sciences, 45 (16.2 %) in engineering sciences, 83 (29.9 %) in the natural sciences and 115 (41.4 %) in the life sciences.


Stand: April 2024