Scientific Prizes

The DFG awards prizes to scientists and academics in recognition of their outstanding research achievements.

  • Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize
    The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Programme awards prizes to scientists and academics for their outstanding achievements in the field of research.

  • Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize
    The Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize is a distinction for early career researchers and provides further incentive for excellent achievements in their research work.

  • Communicator Award
    The “Communicator Award – Science Award of the Donors' Association" is awarded by the DFG. This personal award, worth €50,000, is given to researchers who have communicated their scientific findings to the public with exceptional success.

  • von Kaven Award
    The von Kaven Award is presented each year to an outstanding EU-based mathematician.

  • Bernd Rendel Prize
    The Bernd Rendel Prize is awarded annually by the DFG to qualified early career geoscientists who do not yet hold a doctorate. Criteria for the selection of awardees are quality and originality of the research as well as the scientific potential of the candidates.

  • Ursula M. Händel Prize
    The Ursula M. Händel-Prize recognises scientists who have made exemplary and sustained efforts to improve the welfare of animals in research.

  • Copernicus Award
    The Copernicus Award is conferred every two years to two researchers, one in Germany and one in Poland, for outstanding achievements in German-Polish research cooperation. It is conferred jointly by the DFG and the Foundation for Polish Science (Fundacja na rzecz Nauki Polskiej, FNP).

  • Albert Maucher Prize in Geoscience
    The Albert Maucher Prize in Geoscience is awarded once every three years to early career researchers in recognition of outstanding research findings and original approaches. Researchers who already have a full professorship cannot be nominated.