Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize

© DFG / Jenny Otto

The Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize is the most important research award in Germany. The Leibniz Programme, established in 1985, aims to honour outstanding scientists and academics, expand their research opportunities, and help them employ particularly qualified early career researchers. A maximum of €2.5 million is provided per award. Prizewinners are first chosen from a slate of nominations put forward by third parties; the Joint Committee selects the actual prizewinners based on a recommendation from the Selection Committee for the Leibniz Programme.

Prizewinners and award ceremonies

Further Information


Dr. Christina Elger
Telephone: +49 (228) 885-3117