Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

AT GENERAL ASSEMBLY IN JULYThree Candidates for DFG Presidential Election

(11.04.19) At the DFG presidential election in early July, three candidates will run as successors to the current President, Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider, who is due to step down in accordance with the normal system of rotation. The candidates are (in alphabetical order): Prof. Dr. Katja Becker, University of Giessen; Prof. Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Marquardt, Forschungszentrum Jülich; Prof. Dr. Dorothea Wagner, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT). Interner Linkmore

Approximately €85 million for three years14 New Priority Programmes

(01.04.19) The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) is establishing 14 new Priority Programmes for 2020. This was decided by the DFG Senate in Bonn. The 14 new groups, which were selected from 50 submissions, will receive a total of approximately €85 million – including a 22% programme allowance for indirect project costs – for an initial three-year period. Interner Linkmore

Approximately €18 million for first funding periodSix New Research Units

(01.04.19) The DFG has approved the establishment of six new Research Units. This decision was made in Bonn by the Joint Committee upon recommendation by the Senate. The new units will receive a total of approximately €18 million, including a 22% programme allowance for indirect project costs, for an initial three-year period. The Committee also approved the extension of eight Research Units and one Centre for Advanced Studies in the Humanities and Social Sciences for a second funding period. Interner Linkmore

AwardKatharina Anna Zweig – 2019 Communicator Award Recipient

(29.03.19) Computer scientist Prof. Dr. Katharina Anna Zweig is the winner of this year’s Communicator Award, conferred by the DFG and the Stifterverband. The researcher from the University of Kaiserslautern will be presented with the €50,000 prize for her dedicated and wide-ranging communication on the ethical, political and social implications of algorithms and their application. Interner Linkmore


Award for Early Career ResearchersDFG and BMBF to Award Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prizes

This year, ten researchers – three women and seven men – will receive the Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize, the most important award for early career researchers in Germany. The €20,000 prize will be presented on 28 May in Berlin. Interner Linkmore

Pre-AnnouncementCalls for Proposals on Joint Sino-German Projects in 2019

The DFG and the National Natural Science Foundation of China (NSFC) continue their initiative to support joint Sino-German research projects. DFG and NSFC have agreed to organise this initiative from now on in two consecutive calls. Interner Linkmore

National Research Data InfrastructureDFG to Coordinate Selection and Evaluation of Consortia

The DFG will play a key role in creating a national research data infrastructure (NFDI). The DFG will conduct the initial selection process, regularly evaluate the established consortia and manage their funds. Interner Linkmore

FAQs on submitting proposals to funding programmes

The FAQs were compiled to assist prospective applicants in submitting proposals to the DFG. They provide information on various DFG funding programmes and serve to complement existing guidelines and instructions. Interner Linkmore