Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize

The Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize is awarded to Japanese and German researchers in recognition of their exceptional contribution towards advancing understanding between the two countries. The prize is valued at €10,000 and is awarded once every two years to one German and one Japanese researcher. In exceptional cases, the award may also go to a research team. Prizes are awarded for particular achievements in all fields of research, although the award rotates regularly between the humanities and social sciences, on the one hand, and the natural sciences, including the life sciences and medicine, on the other.

The prize is financed through a fund donated by Eugen and Ilse Seibold. The marine geologist, Professor Eugen Seibold, and U.S. environmentalist, Lester Brown, were jointly awarded the "Blue Planet Prize" in 1994 by the Japanese Asahi Glass Foundation - at €400,000 the world's largest environmental prize. Eugen Seibold, who was president of the DFG from 1980 to 1985, and his wife, Dr. Ilse Seibold, donated €150,000 of the prize money to the DFG for the establishment of a fund. The proceeds from the "Eugen and Ilse Seibold Fund" serve to promote research and understanding between Germany and Japan.

Prizewinners and award ceremonies

Further Information