Professor Eugen Seibold

DFG President from 1980 to 1985

Curriculum Vitae

Prof. Dr. Eugen Seibold

Prof. Dr. Eugen Seibold

Eugen Seibold was born in Stuttgart on 11 May 1918 and studied geology at Bonn and Tübingen. He received his doctorate in 1949 and his habilitation (venia legendi) in 1951. After several years of employment as a reader, he became Professor of General and Applied Geology and taught at the University of Tübingen from 1953 to 1958. From 1958 onwards Seibold worked as Full Professor and Director of the Geological-Palaeontological Institute at the University of Kiel. Since 1985 he has also held Honorary Professorships at the Tongji University Shanghai and the University of Freiburg/Br. Eugen Seibold died on 23 October 2013.

Positions, Memberships and Distinctions

  • 1980-1983 Vice President of the European Science Foundation
  • 1980-1984 President of the International Union of Geological Sciences (IUGS)
  • 1980-1985 President of the DFG
  • 1984-1990 President of the European Science Foundation


Member and honorary member of the German Academy of Natural Sciences/Leopoldina (Akademie der Naturforscher Leopoldina) in Halle, Mainz Academy of Sciences and Literature (Akademie der Wissenschaften und der Literatur); Corresponding member of various academies of sciences and humanities (Bavaria, Göttingen, Croatia and Rhineland-Westphalia); Member of the Académie des Sciences Paris.


Großes Bundesverdienstkreuz (1983), Gustav Steinmann Medal (1985) and Hans Stille Medal of the German Geological Society (1986), Medal of Merit of the State of Baden-Württemberg (1987), Blue Planet Prize, Tokyo (1994)

Honorary doctorates

University of Norwich (1984) and University of Paris (1988)

Major Research Fields and Publications

General research on sedimentology, geochemistry, hydrogeology, tectonics and micropalaeontology; Studies on sedimentology and marine geology in the Baltic and North Sea, in the Indian Ocean and Persian/Arabian Gulf, in the Eastern Atlantic and in the Indian Ocean

Major Publications

  • Lehrbuch der Allgemeinen Geologie I (co-editor, first ed. 1964)
  • Der Meeresboden (1974)
  • The Sea Floor (1982, co-editor)
  • Sahara and Surrounding Seas (1980, co-editor)
  • Geology of the Northwest African Continental Margin (1982, co-editor)
  • Stratigraphy Quo Vadis (co-editor)
  • Das Gedächtnis des Meeres (1991)
  • Die entfesselte Erde (1995)

Further Informationen

Additional Information on the Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize :