Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes 2021

The Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) decided to award the 2021 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize to four female and six male researchers.They had previously been selected from 131 nominees by the selection committee responsible. Of the ten prizewinners, there are two each from the humanities and social sciences, the natural sciences and the engineering sciences, and four from the life sciences. Each will receive prize money of €2.5 million. They are entitled to use these funds for their research work in any way they wish, without bureaucratic obstacles, for up to seven years. Due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Joint Committee met by video conference. The Leibniz Prizes 2021 will be awarded virtually on 15 March.

Externer Li

Prizewinners 2021

Dr. Asifa Akhtar

Epigenetics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Elisabeth André

Computer Science Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Giuseppe Caire

Theoretical Communications Engineering Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Nico Eisenhauer

Biodiversity Research Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Veronika Eyring

Earth System Modelling Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Katerina Harvati-Papatheodorou

Palaeoanthropology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Steffen Mau

Sociology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Rolf Müller

Pharmaceutical Biology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Jürgen Ruland

Immunology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Volker Springel

Astrophysics Interner Linkmore