Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Press Release No. 32 | 4 July 2012
DFG Executive Committee with Two New Members

Leena Kaarina Bruckner-Tuderman Succeeds Jürgen Schölmerich / Frank Allgöwer Named Successor to Bernd Scholz-Reiter / Elisabeth Knust Re-elected for a Three-Year Term

The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) has two new vice presidents. Leena Kaarina Bruckner-Tuderman, professor of dermatology at Freiburg, and Frank Allgöwer, professor of systems theory and automatic control at Stuttgart, were elected to the Executive Committee of Germany’s largest research funding organisation by the DFG’s General Assembly in Dortmund on 4 July 2012. In the office of vice president, Bruckner-Tuderman succeeds Jürgen Schölmerich, professor of internal medicine at Frankfurt. Allgöwer is the successor to Professor Bernd Scholz-Reiter, who resigned as vice president at the end of 2011 after being named rector of the University of Bremen.

The physician Leena Kaarina Bruckner-Tuderman is specialist consultant for dermatology and venereology and medical director at the University Dermatology Clinic at Freiburg. Born in Oulu, Finland in 1952, she pursued medical studies at the University of Oulu from 1971 to 1976, where she earned her doctorate. Bruckner-Tuderman qualified for university teaching (Habilitation) at the University of Zurich in 1989. She held her first professorship at the University of Münster and was subsequently a visiting professor at Harvard Medical School before being appointed to the University of Freiburg in 2002. 

Apart from her research activities, Bruckner-Tuderman actively contributes to a number of professional and specialist associations, including the German Dermatological Society and the European Society for Dermatological Research. Among her responsibilities at the University of Freiburg, she was pro-dean for strategy and development issues at the Faculty of Medicine. She was a Heisenberg Fellow of the DFG from 1994 to 1999 and, from 2004 to 2011, was active on the DFG Review Board for medicine in the section dealing with genetic and metabolic foundations of human disease. Bruckner-Tuderman, who has been awarded a number of prizes, has also served as coordinator and co-initiator of several DFG Priority Programmes and Collaborative Research Centres.

Engineering scientist Frank Allgöwer is director of the Institute for Systems Theory and Automatic Control at the University of Stuttgart. Born in Heilbronn-Sontheim, Germany in 1962, he pursued studies in engineering cybernetics and applied mathematics at the University of Stuttgart and at the University of California at Los Angeles (UCLA) between 1981 and 1987. Upon completing his doctorate at Stuttgart, he held positions with DuPont in Wilmington, Delaware, US and as assistant professor for nonlinear systems at ETH Zurich. His alignment with international research is underscored by appointments as visiting professor to the University of California at Santa Barbara and to the University of Newcastle in Australia. Allgöwer’s main research interests are in the development of new methods relating to systems and control theory, with a special focus on nonlinear predictive control of networked systems. This technology can be potentially applied in fields such as process control engineering, mechatronics, biomedical technology and nanotechnology. Systems biology represents an additional focus of Allgöwer’s research.

Frank Allgöwer is an active member of a number of research and university boards as well as of national and international associations, in addition to serving as editor and associate editor of various internationally recognised scientific journals. He has received a number of awards, including the DFG’s Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize and the Outstanding Service Award of the International Federation of Automatic Control.

Apart from electing the two new vice presidents, the General Assembly in Dortmund re-elected developmental biologist Elisabeth Knust for a further three-year term. Knust is director of the Max Planck Institute for Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics in Dresden and has served as vice president of the DFG since 2009. A former Heisenberg Fellow and past winner of the Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize, during her initial term Knust has been especially active in promoting research on biodiversity, specifically through providing consultation and support in the establishment of the DFG Research Centre for biodiversity. Knust has also been actively involved in promoting originality and creativity among individual researchers and in ensuring a balance between individual grants and grants awarded to research networks.

The new vice presidents Bruckner-Tuderman and Allgöwer and re-elected vice president Knust will serve on the Executive Committee together with DFG President Matthias Kleiner, who will leave office at the end of the year. The other vice presidents are: Christine Windbichler, professor of law, historian Peter Funke, physicist Konrad Samwer, information scientist Dorothea Wagner, and Ferdi Schüth, professor of chemistry. Dr. Arend Oetker, president of the Donors’ Association for the Promotion of Science and Humanities in Germany, is a permanent guest on the DFG’s Executive Committee. The Executive Committee is responsible for managing the DFG’s day-to-day business, which is conducted at the organisation’s Head Office under the supervision of the Secretary General, Dorothee Dzwonnek.

Further Information

Media contact:

  • DFG Press and Public Relations Office,
    Tel. +49 228 885-2443,

Details on the members of the DFG Executive Committee are available at: