Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

DFG Head Office

DFG Organisational Chart

The Head Office of the DFG employs 950 members of staff and is based in Bonn. It has an office in Berlin plus foreign offices in India, Japan, Latin America, North America and until April 2022 in Russia. The Head Office supports the work of the bodies and administers the DFG funding programmes.

It is structured into four departments (Central Administration, International Affairs and Integrative Activities, Scientific Affairs, and Coordinated Programmes and Infrastructure) and an executive level.

Below these levels, the DFG Head office is organised in divisions. Click on the respective division in order to find the right contact person. In addition to the organisational structure, the areas of responsibility of the individual employees are shown there.

Organisational Chart Collaborative Research Centres Excellence Strategy and Research Impulses Executive Board Executive Level Strategy and Policy Press and Public Relations Economics, Auditing and Compliance Berlin Office Central Administration Finance Human Resources and Legal Affairs Organisational Developement and Transformation Management Information Technology and Infrastructure International Affairs and Integrative Activities Information Management Quality and Programme Management Research Culture International Affairs DFG Offices Sino-German Center for Research Promotion in Bejing DFG Office India DFG Office Japan DFG Office Latinamerica DFG Office North America Scientific Affairs Life Sciences 3 Life Sciences 2 Life Sciences 1 Humanities and Social Sciences 2 Humanities and Social Sciences 1 Engineering Sciences 1 Mathematics and Engineering Sciences 2 Geosciences Physics and Chemistry Coordinated Programmes and Infrastructure Research Careers Scientific Instrumentation and Information Technology Scientific Library Services and Information Systems