Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes 2020

The Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) decided to award the 2020 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize to ten researchers. The recipients of the prize were chosen by the selection committee from 114 nominees. Four of the ten prizewinners are from the humanities and social sciences, three from the life sciences, one from the natural sciences, and two from the engineering sciences. Each will receive prize money of €2.5 million. They are entitled to use these funds for their research work in any way they wish, without bureaucratic obstacles, for up to seven years.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic the awards ceremony for the 2020 Leibniz Prizes took place virtually on 9 November. A film presents the laureates, laudations, and words of greeting.

Prizewinners 2020

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bach

Prof. Dr. Thorsten Bach

Organic Chemistry Interner Linkmore

Dr. Baptiste Jean Germain Gault

Materials Science Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Johannes Grave

Prof. Dr. Johannes Grave

History of Art Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Thomas Kaufmann

Protestant Theology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Andrea Musacchio

Prof. Dr. Andrea Musacchio

Cell Biology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Thomas Neumann

Computer Science Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. med. Marco Prinz

Prof. Dr. Marco Prinz

Neuropathology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Markus Reichstein

Biogeochemistry Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schäfer

Prof. Dr. Dagmar Schäfer

History of Science Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Juliane Vogel

Literature Interner Linkmore