Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

banner: Kopfbereich DFG2020 Logo - englisch Because research matters

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes 2017

Three women and seven men received the 2017 Leibniz Prize. The recipients of the prize were selected by the Nominations Committee from 134 nominees. Of the ten new prizewinners, three are from the natural sciences, three from the humanities and social sciences, two from the life sciences and two from the engineering sciences. Each of them will receive €2.5 million in prize money. They can use these funds for their research work for up to seven years.

The awards ceremony for the 2017 Leibniz Prizes took place on 15 March in Berlin.

Shortly before the awards ceremony the DFG received anonymous comments concerning the research work of Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler, a materials scientist at the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, which required further examination. A thorough investigation was conducted and Prof. Nestler was cleared of all allegations of scientific misconduct. The 2017 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize was subsequently awarded to her during the DFG’s annual meeting in Halle (Saale).

Prizewinners 2017

Prof. Dr. Lutz Ackermann

Prof. Dr. Lutz Ackermann

Organic Molecular Chemistry Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Beatrice Gründler

Arabic Studies Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Ralph Hertwig

Prof. Dr. Ralph Hertwig

Cognitive Psychology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Karl-Peter Hopfner

Structural Molecular Biology Interner Linkmore

Professor Dr. Frank Jülicher

Prof. Dr. Frank Jülicher

Theory of Biological Physics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Lutz Mädler

Mechanical Process Engineering Interner Linkmore

Professor Dr. Britta Nestler

Prof. Dr. Britta Nestler

Materials Science Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Joachim P. Spatz

Biophysics Interner Linkmore

Professor Dr. Anne Storch

Prof. Dr. Anne Storch

African Studies Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Jörg Vogel

Medical Microbiology Interner Linkmore