Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2011

View gallery

The winners of Germany's most prestigious research prize have been officially announced. At its meeting in Bonn today, the Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) named ten researchers, four women and six men, as the winners of the 2011 Leibniz Prize. The award winners were selected by the Nominations Committee from among 152 nominees, and will each receive € 2.5 million in prize money. Of the ten Leibniz Prizes awarded this year, four were awarded in the life sciences, three in the natural sciences, two in the engineering sciences, and one in the humanities and social sciences.

Prizewinners 2011

Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas

Prof. Dr. Ulla Bonas

Microbiology/Molecular Phytopathology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Christian Büchel

Cognitive Neurosciences Interner Linkmore

Prof. Anja Feldmann, Ph.D.

Prof. Anja Feldmann

Computer Science/Computer Networks/Internet Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Kai-Uwe Hinrichs

Organic Geochemistry Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Anthony A. Hyman

Prof. Dr. Anthony A. Hyman

Cell Biology/Microtubules and Cell Division Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Bernhard Keimer

Experimental Solid State Physics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Franz Pfeiffer

Prof. Dr. Franz Pfeiffer

Laser Medicine Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Joachim Friedrich Quack

Egyptology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Sadowski

Prof. Dr. Gabriele Sadowski

Technical Thermodynamics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Christine Silberhorn

Quantum Optics Interner Linkmore