Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

From the Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft to the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Beginnings: 1920 to 1933 in the Weimar Republic

30 October 1920Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft founded in Berlin on the initiative of Fritz Haber, "Father of the Notgemeinschaft", and Friedrich Schmidt-Ott, who became its first president
1920Creation of a Donors' Association, Stifterverband der Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft e.V., for the purpose of acquiring additional funding in the form of private donations
1929Consolidation and internal expansion results in the organisation being renamed: Deutsche Gemeinschaft zur Erhaltung und Förderung der Forschung, in short: "Forschungsgemeinschaft"

The Nazi Period: 1933 to 1945

1934Schmidt-Ott and the Executive Committee of the Forschungsgemeinschaft resign
From 1934The Nazis enforce political conformity with Nazi ideology on the Forschungsgemeinschaft, initially under the presidency of physicist Johannes Stark (1934-36), then under "military chemist" Rudolf Mentzel (1936-45), who implemented the Nazi leadership principle.

From 1949: New Beginning and Creation of the DFG in the Federal Republic of Germany

1949Re-establishment in Bonn of the Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft on the initiative of universities, the Donors' Association and the State (Länder) Ministries of Education and Cultural Affairs
1949On the initiative of Werner Heisenberg, constitution of a science and research policy focused Deutscher Forschungsrat with the support of the Max Planck Society and the Academies of Sciences and Humanities in Göttingen, Heidelberg and Munich
2 August 1951Notgemeinschaft der Deutschen Wissenschaft and Deutscher Forschungsrat merge to form the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (German Research Foundation)
Since 1951DFG Head Office in Bonn-Bad Godesberg
Since 1990Funding activities of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft extend to include the territory of the unified Germany