Joint Press Release
Press Release No. 34 | August 23, 2022

New Website of the Alliance of Science Organisations Clusters Information

The Alliance of Science Organisations in Germany now has its own website. The recently launched website clusters all the infor-mation on the Alliance and its members. In particular, this will provide a central platform for publication of the Alliance’s statements on science policy and details of its activities.

Professor Dr. Katja Becker, president of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, Ger-man Research Foundation) who has taken the Alliance’s chair this year, said at the launch of the website: “The capability of the German science system is based not least on the diverse range of research and funding types it offers. This diversity is the institutional reflection of the academic freedom we enjoy in Germany – expressed to the full in the collaborative work done by the Alliance of Science Organisations: by working together, we strengthen the complementary nature of our various approaches to funding and coordinate on important issues and topics so as to make excellent top-level research possible in the long term.” On the new website, the presidents of the other member organisations likewise set out the goals and values the Alliance is committed to and explain why they are motivated to work together as a group of ten.

The Alliance’s statements were previously published on the websites of the individual mem-bers: as a central point of contact, the new website now provides full details of the Alliance and its initiatives at a glance. It is also available in English. The most important points are additionally provided in simple language so as to ensure barrier-free access.

The Alliance of Science Organisations is an association of the most important research or-ganisations in Germany. It regularly comments on important issues of research policy. The Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) is a member of the Alliance and has taken the chair for 2022. Other members are the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, the German Academic Exchange Service, the Fraunhofer Society, the Helmholtz Association, the German Rectors’ Conference, the Leibniz Association, the Max Planck Socie-ty, the German National Academy of Sciences Leopoldina and the German Council of Sci-ence and Humanities.

Media contact