Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prizes 2022

The latest recipients of the most prestigious research funding prize in Germany have been announced: The Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) today awarded the 2022 Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize to ten researchers – five women and five men. They had previously been selected from 134 nominees by the selection committee responsible. Of the ten prizewinners, four are from the humanities and social sciences, four from the natural sciences and the engineering sciences, and two from the life sciences. The prizewinners each receive prize money of €2.5 million. They are entitled to use these funds for their research work in any way they wish, without bureaucratic obstacles, for up to seven years.

Due to the coronavirus pandemic, it has not yet been decided when and at what kind of event the Leibniz Prizes will be awarded in 2022; separate information on this will be provided at a later date.

Prizewinners 2022

Prof. Dr. Almut Arneth

Ecosystem Research Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Marietta Auer

Law Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Iain Couzin

Behavioural Biology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Stefanie Dehnen

Inorganic Molecular Chemistry Interner Linkmore

Dr. Eileen Furlong

Functional Genome Biology Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Peter Hommelhoff

Experimental Physics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Gabriel Martínez-Pinedo

Theoretical Physics Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Mischa Meier

Ancient History Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Karen Radner

Ancient Oriental Studies Interner Linkmore

Prof. Dr. Moritz Schularick

Economics Interner Linkmore