Membership Period 2008 - 2011

Review Board Members (2008 - 2011)

The reviews boards elected at the end of 2007 began their work at the constitutive meetings between February and May 2008. A total of 594 scientists and researchers were elected to serve on 48 reviews boards, which are subdivided into 203 subject areas.

Section members in Review Board 201 "Foundations of Biology and Medicine" and in Review Board 205 "Medicine" (2008-2011 membership period)

In accordance with the framework rules and regulations, the review boards 201 and 205 decided to divide into separate sections. To view the general list of review board members and subject classifications, please refer to the links above.

Members of the Interdisciplinary Medical Technology Section

The Medical Technology Section aims, as an interdisciplinary link between medical researchers and engineers, to do justice to the specific demands of reviewing interdisciplinary proposals in the field of medical technology. Its members, who represent a wide variety of review boards, will continue to be involved in reviewing proposals submitted to their own review boards, but will also be responsible for evaluating and discussing proposals in the field of medical technology under the auspices of the interdisciplinary Medical Technology Section.

2007 Election of Review Board Members

Election Results

A total of 36,313 researchers and scientists cast their electronic ballots in the online election of review board members in 2007.

Of the ballots cast, 35,811 were valid and 502 were invalid. All those actively eligible to vote could cast up to six votes for candidates from any subject area and review board, with a maximum of three for any one candidate. With a total of 35,811 valid ballots cast, 207,224 votes, distributed among 1,363 candidates, were submitted online. The voter participation was approximately 38.6%.

A total of 594 candidates were thus elected as members of the new review boards. In comparison to previous elections, the proportion of female scientists elected increased significantly, from 12% to 16.8%. The final results of the election were announced to the Senate on 5 February 2008 and subsequently published on the internet. The provisional results of the elections had been published on the internet on 6 December 2007.

The electoral body of the DFG sent ballot papers to a total of 112 voting centres for distribution to eligible scientists and researchers in October 2007. The DFG served as a voting centre for single voters, i.e. researchers who were eligible to vote but not working at an established voting centre. In order to be able to accept late registrations from eligible voters during the elections, the voting centres were sent more ballot papers than they would actually have needed according to the figures they provided to the DFG.