Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Facts and Figures

The DFG currently funds 274 Collaborative Research Centres (CRC) with a total of €717 million (incl. programme allowances) for 2018 (figures as of 1 July 2018). This accounts for approximately 22% of the DFG’s total budget.

196 of these Centres are primarily based at single universities, whereas 78 CRC/Transregio are mainly based at up to three universities. 14 new Collaborative Research Centres have been established, among them six new CRC/Transregios.

Of the 274 Collaborative Research Centres currently running, 33 (12 %) are located in the field of humanities and social sciences, 46 (16.8 %) in engineering sciences, 84 (30.7 %) in the natural sciences and 111 (40.5 %) in the life sciences.

As of 1 July 2018