Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the DFG consists of the President and eight Vice Presidents. The Secretary General of the DFG and the President of the Stifterverband, who are members by virtue of their office, serve in an advisory capacity. The President collaborates with the Executive Committee to develop the strategic and conceptual direction of the DFG. The Executive Committee also prepares the resolutions of the Senate and Joint Committee unless these decisions relate to funding.

The Vice Presidents, who serve in an honorary capacity, are elected by the General Assembly for a maximum of two terms consisting of four years each. They also attend Senate and Joint Committee meetings as guests. If the President is unable to attend, they represent him or her and perform his or her duties.