DFG to Fund Electron Microscopes for University Research

€67 million for 24 microscopes / “University research now better equipped for the future”

(05.10.17) At its autumn session, the Joint Committee of the DFG approved the funding of 17 high-performance electron microscopes with a total sum of €43 million. Funding for seven microscopes, amounting to €24 million, was awarded in the spring. This instrumentation will enable universities to benefit from state-of-the-art technology in life sciences research and physical materials science.

DFG Establishes Two New Senate Commissions

Permanent Senate Commission on Fundamental Issues of Biological Diversity and Senate Commission on Earth System Research / Primary task of Commissions is policy advice

(27.09.17) At its autumn session, the DFG Senate approved the establishment of two new Senate Commissions. The Permanent Senate Commission on Fundamental Issues of Biological Diversity will provide expert advice on legal and policy developments and represent the interests of basic research. The Senate Commission on Earth System Research will handle topics relating to research on the Earth’s surface and interior, water and air. It will have an initial term of six years.

DFG Approves Three New Research Units and One New Clinical Research Unit

Topics range from pancreatic cancer to the configurations of crisis in the arts

(22.09.17) At its autumn session, the DFG Senate established three new Research Units and one new Clinical Research Unit. Through research groups of this type, the DFG supports collaboration between researchers interested in a specific area of research. The new units will receive funding of approximately €15 million for an initial period of three years. The DFG now funds a total of 195 Research Units and 17 Clinical Research Units.

Excellence Strategy: 88 Draft Proposals for Clusters of Excellence to Compete in Final Selection Round

Results of Committee of Experts Meeting on 27-28 September 2017

(29.09.17) Initial decisions have been made in Germany’s Excellence Strategy. The international Committee of Experts convened in Bonn on 27 and 28 September 2017 and selected 88 projects from 195 draft proposals for Clusters of Excellence to proceed to the full proposal stage. The list of successful applicant universities and their projects has now been published.

Main Content

DFG Representation Abroad (Interactive Map)

One of the DFG's core strategies, which is to promote collaboration between researchers at home and abroad, has gained increasing importance in the recent past. Establishing offices abroad is a part of this international strategy.

Further Information

Scientific Prizes

Bernd Rendel Prize 2017

Three researchers at the start of their careers in the earth sciences will receive the DFG’s Bernd Rendel Prize this year for their multifaceted and original research in the earth sciences. Jaayke Lynn Fiege, Sinikka Tina Lennartz and Sebastian Sippel were singled out by the jury from the 16 applications submitted. They will each receive €1,500 for scientific purposes from the Bernd Rendel Foundation, which is administered by the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Sciences and Humanities in Germany.

Research Explorer – Research Directory

The Research Explorer is a fully searchable directory of 23,000 institutes at German universities and non-university research institutions. It is linked to the HRK’s Higher Education Compass offering additional information on doctoral programmes.


First German Science Roundtable at German Embassy, New Delhi

With an objective to discuss the science policy matters concerning India and Germany, the upcoming Indo-German Intergovernmental Consultations, the new initiatives undertaken and the impact thereof on Indo-German scientific collaborations, a “German Science Roundtable” was organized at the Embassy of the Federal Republic of Germany, New Delhi on 19th May 2017.

Additional Information


We will be carrying out planned maintenance from 4 p.m. Friday, 20 October to Saturday, 21 October 2017. During this time, you will not be able to access contact information for DFG staff members or information on current DFG projects from our website (www.dfg.de). In addition, the following services may be temporarily unavailable:
- www.dfg.de
- gepris.dfg.de
- elan.dfg.de
Thank you for your patience.

Research Opportunities

Who We Are

The DFG is the largest independent research funding organisation in Germany. It promotes the advancement of science and the humanities by funding research projects, research centres and networks, and facilitating cooperation among researchers.

The media library "DFG in action" contains video and audio files relating to DFG-funded research and the DFG itself.

© 2010-2017 DFG Last updated: 20 August 2009Sitemap  |  Imprint  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact  |  RSS Feeds

Text Enlargement and Change of Contrast