Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

€134 MILLION FOR DOCTORAL PROGRAMMEEleven New Research Training Groups

(20.12.17) The DFG is establishing 11 new Research Training Groups to further support early career researchers. This was decided by the responsible Grants Committee in Bonn. The new collaborations will be funded for an initial period of four and a half years. In addition, 18 Research Training Groups were also extended for another four and a half years. The Committee awarded a total of €134 million in funding. Interner Linkmore

SCIENTIFIC MISCONDUCTWritten Reprimand and Two-Year Ban on Submitting Proposals

(15.12.17) The DFG is again taking action following an instance of scientific misconduct: The Joint Committee has imposed sanctions against Jena gerontologist Prof. Dr. Karl Lenhard Rudolph in accordance with the DFG Rules of Procedure for Dealing with Scientific Misconduct. Interner Linkmore

Coordinated ProgrammesDFG to Fund New Research Units and Humanities Centres for Advanced Studies

(14.12.17) The DFG has approved the establishment of eight new Research Units, one new Clinical Research Unit and two new Humanities Centres for Advanced Studies. This was decided by the DFG Senate during its winter session in Bonn. In the initial funding period, the 11 new groups will receive a total of approximately €32 million. This brings the number of Research Units currently funded by the DFG to 223. Interner Linkmore

DFG Announces Winners of 2018 Leibniz Prizes

(14.12.17) The latest recipients of Germany's most prestigious research funding prize have been announced. The Joint Committee of the DFG has selected eleven researchers, four women and seven men, to receive the 2018 Leibniz Prize. Three of the prizewinners are from the humanities and social sciences, three from the life sciences, three from the natural sciences, and two from the engineering sciences. Nine of the prizewinners will receive €2.5 million each, while two will share one prize, each receiving €1.25 million. The awards ceremony will be held on 19 March in Berlin. Interner Linkmore

The DFG at a Glance

  • Statutory Bodies
  • DFG Contacts
  • Mission Statement


MeetingsGAIN Meeting 2017

Germany’s academic system offers good career prospects for young academics who are currently working abroad in the US and Canada. The 17th annual meeting of the German Academic International Network (GAIN) was held in San Francisco on 25–27 August 2017. Interner Linkmore

Scientific Prizesvon Kaven Award 2017

The DFG's von Kaven Award for 2017 goes to the mathematician Dr. Manuel Amann. The award is being conferred for the eleventh time and was presented on 23 October 2017 in conjunction with the Gauß lecture of the German Mathematical Society (DMV) in Regensburg. Interner Linkmore

Scientific PrizesSeibold Prize 2017

Immunologist Prof. Dr. Takeshi Tsubata and architect Prof. Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bock receive the DFG’s Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize 2017 in recognition of their successful and dedicated contributions to academic and cultural exchange between Germany and Japan. Interner Linkmore

InternationalTaiwan-German Collaboration in Research

The Ministry of Science and Technology of Taiwan has launched a new call for proposals in all fields of science. Proposals at the DFG should be submitted not later than 30 November 2017. Interner Linkmore

InternationalBrazilian-German Collaboration in Research

The National Institutes of Science and Technology (INCTs) are a strategic programme in the Brazilian national funding system. The DFG's funding programmes are open for cooperation. Interner Linkmore

Research InfrastructureDFG to Fund Electron Microscopes

The DFG approved the funding of 17 high-performance electron microscopes with a total sum of €43 million. This instrumentation will enable universities to benefit from state-of-the-art technology. Interner Linkmore

Ongoing Calls for Proposals

Interner Linkmore Calls for Proposals and Information for Researchers

FAQs on submitting proposals to funding programmes

The FAQs were compiled to assist prospective applicants in submitting proposals to the DFG. They provide information on various DFG funding programmes and serve to complement existing guidelines and instructions. Interner Linkmore

Seibold Prize 2017

Professor Dr. Takeshi Tsubata und Professor Dr.-Ing. Thomas Bock haben im Festsaal der Universität Bonn den mit 10.000 Euro dotierten Eugen und Ilse Seibold-Preis erhalten. Es war die zehnte Verleihung des Preises. Interner Linkmore

von Kaven Prize 2017

Der mit 10.000 Euro dotierte von Kaven-Ehrenpreis 2017 der DFG geht an den Mathematiker Privatdozent Dr. Manuel Amann. Er wurde im Rahmen der Gauß-Vorlesung der DMV in Regensburg zum elften Mal verliehen. Interner Linkmehr

From left: Ismene Seeberg-Elverfeldt (DFG), Sinikka Tina Lennartz (GEOMAR),  Sebastian Sippel (Max Planck Institute for Biogeochemistry), Prof. Jan Behrmann (GEOMAR)

Bernd Rendel Prize 2017

Three researchers at the start of their careers in the earth sciences will receive the Bernd Rendel Prize this year for their multifaceted and original research in the earth sciences. Interner Linkmore

© 2010-2018 by DFG
Printable version of a page from the website of the DFG (German Research Foundation)