Section Navigation

Gottfried Wilhelm Leibniz Prize 2012

The winners of Germany's most prestigious research prize have been officially announced. At its meeting in Bonn today, the Joint Committee of the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation) named eleven researchers, two women and nine men, as the winners of the 2012 Leibniz Prize. The award winners were selected by the Nominations Committee from among 131 nominees, and will each receive € 2.5 million in prize money. Of the eleven Leibniz Prizes awarded this year, five were awarded in the life sciences, three in the natural sciences, one in the engineering sciences, and two in the humanities and social sciences.

Prof. Dr. Michael Brecht
Prof. Dr. Michael Brecht

Neurophysiology/Cellular Neuroscience, Bernstein Center for Computational Neuroscience Berlin and Humboldt University Berlin

Prof. Dr. Rainer Forst

Philosophy/Theory, University of Frankfurt am Main

Prof. Dr. Gunther Hartmann & Prof. Dr. Christian Kurts

Clinical Pharmacology/Innate Immunity, University Hospital Bonn (Hartmann) and Immunology/Nephrology, University Hospital Bonn (Kurts)

Prof. Dr. Matthias Mann
Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. Dr. h.c. Matthias Mann

Biochemistry, Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry, Martinsried

Prof. Dr. Friederike Pannewick

Arabic Studies/Literature, Theatre, History of Ideas, University of Marburg

Prof. Dr. Nikolaus Rajewsky

Systems Biology, Max Delbrück Center for Molecular Medicine (MDC), Berlin

Prof. Dr. Ulf Riebesell

Oceanography, Leibniz Institute of Marine Sciences (IFM-GEOMAR) at University of Kiel

Prof. Dr. Peter Sanders

Theoretical Informatics/Algorithmics, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)

Prof. Dr. Barbara Wohlmuth

Mathematics/Numerical Analysis, University of Technology, Munich

Prof. Dr. Jörg Wrachtrup

Experimental Physics, University of Stuttgart

Additional Information

© 2010-2016 DFG Last updated: 08 December 2011Sitemap  |  Imprint  |  Privacy Policy  |  Contact  |  RSS Feeds

Text Enlargement and Change of Contrast