Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize

The Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize, donated by the marine geologist and former president of the DFG and his wife, serves to promote research and understanding between Germany and Japan.

Information about the Programme

Type of Prize

Personal prize, bestowed biennially since 1997.


With this prize, Japanese and German scientists will be awarded, whose work has contributed to a better understanding of the other country.

Number and Value of Awards

The prize, worth approximately €10,000, is awarded to one German and one Japanese scientist. In exceptional cases the prize may also be awarded to a research team.


The prize is awarded on the basis of nominations received in response to an invitation for recommendations from the DFG. The following are eligible to submit nominations:

  • The German Institute for Japanese Studies in Tokyo supported by the Philipp Franz vonSiebold Stiftung
  • The German JSPS Alumni Association
  • The Deutsch-Ostasiatische Wissenschaftsforum in Tübingen – Stuttgart – Hohenheim
  • The German Association for Japanese Studies in Trier
  • The Japanese-German Center Berlin
  • The Japan Foundation in Cologne
  • The Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS)
  • The European Association for Japanese Studies
  • The German-Japanese Association of Jurists
  • The Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • The German Academic Exchange Service
  • The Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science
  • The Helmholtz Association of National Research Centres
  • Previous prize winners

Direct applications are not accepted.

Selection Criteria

The prize is awarded for particular achievements in all disciplines, although it rotates between the humanities and social sciences, including law and economics, on the one hand, and the natural sciences, including the life sciences, engineering and medicine, on the other. In 2015 the prize will be awarded for achievements in the humanities and social sciences. The prize may either be awarded in recognition of a scientist's life's work, or to encourage a young researcher who has already excelled through outstanding and significant work.

Selection of Prizewinners

The prizewinner is selected by a jury chaired by a Vice-president of the DFG. The Secretary General of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation is an ex-officio member of the jury. Members of the jury are appointed for one two-year term.

Nomination Deadlines

The deadline for submission of nominations for 2015 is January 31st.

Documents Required

An appraisal of the nominee's special merits in relation to the purpose of the prize, Curriculum vitae, a complete list of publications and two references.

Forms and Guidelines


For further information on the Eugen and Ilse Seibold Prize please contact