Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Information for Researchers No. 26 | 9 May 2019
Copernicus Award 2020

The Copernicus Award is a joint initiative of the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP, Fundacja na rzecz Nauki Polskiej) and the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation). The award is conferred every two years to two researchers, one in Germany and one in Poland, for outstanding achievements in Polish-German cooperation. The DFG and the FNP now invite nominations for the award, which will be presented for the eighth time.

The purpose of the Copernicus Award is to recognise researchers active in Polish-German scientific cooperation who have made exceptional achievements as a result of that cooperation. In particular, researchers are expected to have rendered outstanding services to Polish-German cooperation by bringing together complementary skills, expertise, and resources in order to jointly address research problems. The results of such joint cooperation should have the potential to open up new perspectives in their respective research fields or other areas of science.

The award is granted on the basis of an open competition that invites nominations from all fields of science and the humanities. The award money of €200,000 is donated in equal shares by the DFG and the FNP, and the award is divided equally among the two recipients. Funds should be used to further advance Polish-German research cooperation.

Members of the Polish and German academic communities are invited to nominate candidates. To be eligible, candidates must have at least a doctoral degree, work at a Polish or German academic institution and be engaged in ongoing research projects. Only researchers who have a doctoral degree and are currently working at public universities and/or research institutions in Germany and/or Poland are eligible to nominate candidates. Self-nominations will also be considered.

Nominations must contain the following documents in English:

  • An appraisal (description of achievements with regard to German-Polish scientific cooperation).
  • Curricula vitae in tabular form (max. 2 pages each).
  • A list of up to ten joint research publications.
  • An additional independent letter of reference for each pair of researchers when the nomination is submitted by a third party, two independent letters of reference for self-nominations.

The deadline for submitting nominations is Tuesday, 9 July 2019. Nominations must be submitted electronically following the instructions on the FNP website:

The jury evaluates the merit of nominations based on the scientific excellence of joint achievements and successful cooperation of a high-impact nature. The jury consists of six jury members – renowned researchers from the German and Polish scientific communities. In order to cover all fields of science and humanities represented by the candidates, up to four associate jury members may additionally be appointed.

The awardees will be announced within nine months from the nomination deadline. The award ceremony will take place in Poland in June 2020.

Further Information

For more information about the Copernicus Award please visit:

FNP programme contact:

DFG programme contacts:


This text is available at Interner Linkwww.dfg.de/en/research_funding/announcements_proposals/2019/info_wissenschaft_18_26/ Please use this identifier to cite or link to this item.