Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Professor Dr. Roland A. Fischer

Vice President of the DFG since 2016

Professor Dr. Roland A. Fischer

Professor Dr. Roland A. Fischer

born 27 August, 1961 in Rosenheim

Inorganic and Metal-Organic Chemistry
Catalysis Research Centre
Technical University Munich

Academic Vita

Since 2017Scientific Director, TUM Catalysis Research Center
Since 2016Chair of Inorganic and Metal-Organic Chemistry, TUM
1997 – 2015Chair of Inorganic Chemistry, Ruhr-Universität Bochum (RUB)
1996 – 1997Professorship of Inorganic Chemistry, University of Heidelberg
1995Habilitation in chemistry, TUM
1989 – 1990Postdoctoral research, University of California, Los Angeles
1989Doctorate in chemistry, TUM
1981 – 1986Studies in chemistry, TUM
1980Abitur, Finsterwalder-Gymnasium, Rosenheim

Professional Activities

Since 2019Visiting professor, Nanjing Tech University, China
2016 – 2020Vice President, Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG, German Research Foundation)
2016 – 2021Coordinator, Priority Programme 1928, Coordination Networks: Building Blocks for Functional Systems (COORNETs)
2015 – 2018Coordinator, European Training Network
"Defect Network Materials Science and Engineering" (DEFNET)
2012 – 2016Senate Committee on Collaborative Research Centres
2012 – 2015Spokesperson, RUB Research School PLUS (GSC 98/II)
2009 – 2013Coordinator, European Research Training Network "New Materials: Innovative Concepts for their Fabrication, Integration and Characterisation" (ENHANCE)
2006 – 2009Spokesperson, RUB Research School (GSC 98/I)
2009 – 2012Second spokesperson, CRC 558 "Metal-Substrate Interactions in Heterogeneous Catalysis", RUB
2004 – 2012Head of Alfried Krupp Schools Lab, RUB
2005 – 2008Dean and Vice Dean, Faculty of Chemistry and Biochemistry, RUB
2001 – 2007Coordinator, Priority Programme 1119, Inorganic Materials through Vapor-Phase Synthesis: Interdisciplinary Concepts for Development, Understanding and Controlling of CVD Processes
2000 – 2008Central selection committee of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
2000 – 2002Vice Rector for Teaching, Studies and Study Reform, RUB

Fellowships, Awards

2018Member of the European Academy of Sciences
2017Honorary doctorate, Faculty of Philosophy and Education, RUB
2011Visiting professorship, Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
2010JSPS Research Fellowship at Kyoto University, Japan
2010Visiting professorship (JSPS), Kyoto University
1996Alfried Krupp Prize for Young Lecturers
1995Lecturer's scholarship (Dozentenstipendium), Karl Winnacker Foundation
1993Heinz Maier-Leibnitz Prize for chemistry and physics of thin layers
1992Postdoctoral fellowship, DFG
1990Liebig Fellowship, Chemical Industry Fund


Over 500 peer-reviewed publications, h-index: 74 (Scopus, May 2020), approx. 21,000 citations not including self-citations; most cited researcher in 2018 across multiple subjects (Web of Science)