Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Professor Dr. Peter Strohschneider

President of the DFG

Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider
View gallery

Prof. Dr. Peter Strohschneider

Born 1955 in Stuttgart
married, three children

Download Curriculum Vitae

Curriculum Vitae

1975 – 1982Studies in German Philology, Law, History, Sociology and Political Sciences, University of Munich
1982Teaching qualification for higher secondary schools
1984Doctorate in Medieval German Literature, University of Munich
1991Habilitation in Medieval and Early Modern German Language and Literature, University of Munich
1992 – 2002Chair of German Medieval and Early Modern Studies, Dresden University of Technology
2001Chair of German Medieval Studies, University of Tübingen (declined)
Since 2002Professor, Chair of German Medieval Studies, University of Munich
2008Chair of German Medieval Studies, Free University of Berlin (declined)

Professional Affiliations

1996 – 2002Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Saxon State and University Library Dresden
1997 – 1999Second Spokesman of the Collaborative Research Centre 537 “Institutionality and Historicity”, Dresden University of Technology
2000 – 2002Spokesman of the European Doctorate Program "Institutional Systems, Scripture, and Symbols", Dresden University of Technology and École Pratique des Hautes Études (IVe Section), Paris
2001 – 2004Member of the Executive Board of the German Confederation of German Scholars
2003 – 2011Member of the Collaborative Research Centre 573 "Pluralization and Authority in Early Modern History (15th-17th Century)", University of Munich
2004 – 2006Initiator and Spokesperson of the International Doctorate Program "Premodern Textuality", University of Munich
2005 – 2011Member of the Wissenschaftsrat (German Sciences and Humanities Council) and as of 2006 Chairman of the Wissenschaftsrat
Since 2008Member of the Jury for the "Universitas-Prize for Science Journalism" of the Hanns Martin Schleyer Foundation
Since 2010Member of the Board of Trustees of the German Museum, Munich
Member of the Advisory Board of the Institute for Advanced Study in the Humanities (KWI), Essen
membership suspended through 2019
Since 2011Member of the Selection Committee of the Alexander von Humboldt-Foundation for the Allocation of the Alexander von Humboldt Professorship - International Award for Research in Germany
2011 – 2012Member of the Foundation Council of Georg-August-University Göttingen
2011 – 2014Member of the Jury for the Leading-Edge Cluster Competition of the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF)
2012Member of the International Consulting Committee of the National Research Foundation of Korea
2012 – 2016Chair of the Jury for the "Academy Prize of Rhineland-Palatinate"
(Academy of Sciences and Literature Mainz)
Since 2013President of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
Member of the Advisory Scientific Council of the Fritz Thyssen Foundation
Member of the Jury for the Georg von Holtzbrinck Prize for Science Journalism
Since 2014Chair of the Expert Commission for the Elite Network of Bavaria
suspended through 2019
Since 2015

Chair of the Baden - Württemberg Expert Council on Strengthening Small Academic Disciplines,
office suspended through 2019

Scholarships, Awards

1977 – 1982Scholarship of the German National Academic Foundation
(Studienstiftung des Deutschen Volkes)
1989 – 1991Habilitation Scholarship of the German Research Foundation (DFG)
1992Annual Prize of the University of Munich
2001Visiting Professor at the École Pratique des Hautes Études
(IVe Section: Sciences historiques et philologiques), Paris
Since 2010Ordinary Member of the Bavarian Academy of Sciences
2010Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany
2011 – 2012Senior Research Fellow at the Freiburg Institute for Advanced Studies (FRIAS) of the University of Freiburg
2012Dagmar Westberg-Visiting Professorship for the Humanities, Goethe University Frankfurt am Main
Since 2012Ordinary Member of the Academia Scientiarum et Artium Europaea
Since 2013Ordinary Member of the Academia Europaea. The Academy of Europe
Ordinary Member of acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering
Since 2014Ordinary Member of the Leopoldina – German National Academy of Sciences
Since 2017Member of the Board of Trustees of acatech – National Academy of Science and Engineering
Since 2017Member of the Board of Trustees of the Centres for Advanced Studies in the Humanities Berlin e.V.
membership suspended through 2019