Zur Hauptnavigation springen Direkt zum Inhalt springen

Logo: Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) - zur Startseite Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Information für die Wissenschaft Nr. 46 | 2. August 2013
The Copernicus Award – Opening Call for the Fifth Edition

The Copernicus Award is a joint initiative of the Foundation for Polish Science (FNP) and the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG). The purpose of the award is to give a distinction to the researchers most active in Polish-German scientific cooperation who have made exceptional research achievements as a result of that cooperation.

The prize money of €100,000 is donated in equal shares by the DFG and the FNP. The award is divided equally among the recipients who may use the money for any scientific purpose that is within the scope of the funding programmes of both organisations. Funds should be used to fur-ther advance research cooperation. The prize is conferred every two years, while the award ceremony takes place once in Germany and once in Poland. The prizewinners of the current edition of the programme shall be announced in May 2014.

Eligible candidates are academics who have at least a doctoral degree, work at a Polish or German academic institution, and at the time of the making of the award are engaged in a Polish-German scientific project. The award is granted on the basis of a competition and the contest embraces all fields of science.

FNP and DFG also announce an open invitation to members of the Polish and German academic community to participate in the nomination process for the fifth edition of Polish-German scien-tific prize – The Copernicus Award. Only researchers who have at least a doctoral degree and are currently working at universities and/or research institutions in Germany and/or Poland are eligible to nominate candidates.

The deadline for submission of nominations for the 2014 Copernicus Award is 15 September 2013. The nomination documents should follow DFG´s guidelines for the Copernicus Award.

Further information

Further information and guidelines for the nomination documents:

Nominations shall be submitted by e-mail to the following address:

Contact persons: