Jump to main navigation Skip to Content

DFG Logo: back to Homepage Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft


The voluntary members of the Commission represent universities, research institutions, industry and professional organisations and contribute their expertise from professional environments. They are assisted by specialists from government agencies and public institutions, who are included as 'permanent guests'.

Once a year the members and permanent guests of the Commission meet for a plenary session. Both the chairs and the heads of the working groups report on the work of the last year and the upcoming changes and new additions to the List of MAK and BAT Values. Decisions on individual substances are then adopted by written consent after the meeting. In the plenary session there are also reports on the cooperation with the Committee on Hazardous Substances (AGS) and its subcommittees as well as international organisations involved in occupational safety, such as the European Commission's Scientific Committee for Occupational Exposure Limits (SCOEL) and the Threshold Limit Values (TLV) Committee of the American Conference of Governmental Industrial Hygienists (ACGIH) in the USA.